We are very excited to congratulate and present the participants in our bi-annual Music Technique Skills-Building Scales & Studies Competition, judged by NBS faculty members Dr. Anna Kislitsyna (piano), James Anemone (piano), Sandra VandeGeijn (violin), Justin Goldsmith (cello) and Joe Dvorak (winds).

The Nelly Berman School is proud to be one of the few community music schools in the United States to have a unique program like this in our curriculum and program offerings. We hope that this new program will become a vital educational experience for the NBS students. All of our Russian-trained teachers have themselves gone through the rigorous training of having biannual juries with studies, scales, arpeggios, and more, and our students will now carry on the traditions of this special training!

The Music Technique Skills-Building Program is open and encouraged for all NBS students, with guidelines currently posted for piano, violin, cello, clarinet, and oboe. Our next evaluative competition will be in May 2021. If you are interested in taking part, please visit our program page to learn more.

PLATINUM Scores – Piano (25/25)

  • Isabella Hsue
  • Michelle Dou
  • Neo Wang
  • George Zhang
  • Andrew Li
  • Phoebe Woo
  • Daniel Adibi
  • Sasha Murray
  • Ryan Zhang

PLATINUM Scores – Strings (30/30)

  • David Qu
  • Evelyn Silio
  • Jeffrey Fan
  • Apollo Murray
  • Suri Ahn
  • Shloka Bhattacharyya
  • Chloe Chen
  • Victoria Fan

GOLD Scores – Piano (21+/25)

  • Kaylee Zang
  • Chris Qu
  • Daniel Deng
  • Miles Lee
  • Ben Qu
  • Benjamin Vuernick
  • Anushka Chakraborty
  • Eshan Bhattacharya
  • Dishan Bhattacharya
  • Chloe Chen

GOLD Scores – Strings (25+/30)

  • Chris Qu
  • Evan Zheng
  • Abigail Vuernick
  • Kat Kat Moore
  • Zoe Zhang
Platinum, Gold, & Silver+ Winners’ Recital

Congratulations to our students and their teachers: James Anemone,  Sylvia Aramjian,  Elena Berman, Tanya Ivanova,  Anna Kislitsyna,  Rodolfo Leuenberger, Lorenzo Mazzamuto, Olga Mogilevsky, Jacques-Pierre Malan, Marianna Prjevalskaya, Igor Resnianski, Ronaldo Rolim,  Irina Rostomashvili, Irina Schuck, Marina Voznaya, Meghan Woodard, Nina Zubaidi